Episode 6 Where I am Wrong about poetry with Jaime R Wood

Jaime R Wood

I’ve never been a big fan of poetry. A poet friend of mine dove in and tried to help expand my horizons. She succeeds, sort of…

Guest: Jaime R Wood

Jaime R. Wood is the author of Living Voices: Multicultural Poetry in the Middle School Classroom (NCTE 2006).  Her poems have appeared in Dislocate, Matter, Juked, ZYZZYVA, DIAGRAM, Phantom Drift, Voice Catcher, and Dark Matter, among others. She currently lives in Portland, Oregon, with her cats Alistair, Phoenix, and Delilah, her teenage niece, and over six hundred thousand other people.

The poems Jaime read

Haiti 2010 by Jaime R. Wood from So Spoke the Earth

Belief in Magic by Dean Young


Traveling through the Dark By William Stafford

Book Mentioned

Citizen by Claudia Rankine

Shel Silverstine

Websites Mentioned


The Marriage question podcast.com

Skin on Sundays/Jessica Lakritz

The I’ve Been Wrong Before Podcast Website


Host: Erin Furian

Producers: Erin Furian and Anjie Furian

Sound Engineer: Anjie Furian

Music- 7th floor Tango by silent partner from YouTube free music library


Beginning of Episode promo:

Stage Left Productions – https://www.stageleftaz.com/

THE DIARY OF ANNE FRANK captures the claustrophobic realities of their daily existence—their fear, their hope, their laughter, their grief. Each day of these two dark years, Anne’s voice shines through: “When I write I shake off all my cares. But I want to achieve more than that. I want to be useful and bring enjoyment to all people, even those I’ve never met. I want to go on living even after my death!” This is a new adaptation for a new generation.


Narrator: Bobby Havens

Music – A Fallen Cowboy by Sir Cubworth from the YouTube free music Library